Introduction To Flash Photography

Using two soft boxes I experimented with flash within a studio. Using a black backdrop and placing the softboxes on either side of the subject, created a shadow in the center of his face. This was intended because it brings more atmosphere and mood to the image. I set the ISO to 100 to minimise the amount of noise that will be seen in the images. The aperture was at f8 to make sure that the model was in focus whilst still creating enough shallow depth of field to blur the background. Finally, the shutter speed was 1/60, which was fast enough to freeze small movements. For this, I used my own camera and lens, Canon 7D and Canon 16-35mm f2.8L IS USM lens.

In Photoshop CC I edited the image using the Unsharp Mask, Levels and Crop tool. The Levels allowed me to control the highlights, shadows, and mid-tones. I only altered the shadows option to make the backdrop completely black, producing a bold and cleaner appearance. The Unsharp Mask added extra detail and I used the crop tool to erase any unwanted background space, filling the frame with the subject.

To conclude I found studio flash to be very interesting to use, providing many different outcomes from the placements of the lighting and various types of accessories, such as umbrellas and soft boxes. The flash allows sharp images and control over the lighting, therefore I will be using this style of photography in the future and taking it further.

022020015010

Leave a Reply

